Gallery

Howlin's world of Triremes, and Biremes and more!

Posted by Howlin on 01 Feb 2022, 22:36

Hello, This is the start of a perpetual thread I will be adding to with finished pictures of models of Triremes, pentconters, Biremes, Ancient ships and more. All with an ancient theme. I take some creative liberties is a world of realistic inspired yet not 100% historical designs.

These are intended as war gaming pieces yet I seem to enjoy dreaming of making them more than spending time to actually use them. But then again I am just beginning.

First up is a model based off a picture I have found labeled Liberna merchant ship. This model came about from the many left over pieces I had from other models and kit bashed them together to make. I apologize for my poor photography set up, the digital camera I use is really hard to see when I have a perfect focus. Its frustrating to get great pics and I just accept this as a limitation.

I am inspired by the bow and stern yet did not use oars for my model, as it is a long voyage ocean transport. With a crew of 8. In games they can be used to transport units, merchandise or fire siege weapons from its large bow.

Howlin  United States of America

Posted by Ochoin on 01 Feb 2022, 23:51

Simply amazing stuff.
I can't tell you how much I like your efforts.

donald
Ochoin  Scotland

Posted by Howlin on 02 Feb 2022, 04:30

Thank you,

it does take quite a lot of steps and efforts to pull these models off,

I really like what I was doing with water but may have to refine the painting of it. I used some layers of mod podge, and one layer had many tiny bubbles that ended up making it look a little milky. And its hard to say whether or not I added too much white for the wave crest and need to add a thin tinting layer of a light sea green.