General Wargaming

Questons of a newbie on wargaming basing

Posted by Coen on 17 Jun 2011, 11:48

Well as I'm new on this forum I'll introduce myself first.

My name is Coen and I'm 19 years old, for two days now. I'm living in Nieuwegein, which is a sort of suburb to the south of Utrecht.
This city has been elected to be the 2nd ugliest city of the Netherlands :-D ! This year I'll start my study of history and Latin in Amsterdam.

I've been painting for just I few years now, think 3 years or so, with some breaks when things got to busy. Until now I've only been painting Napoleonic French, British and Dutch army's and the occasional different set. I'm really a slow painter but recently I improved my speed.
I'd love to be introduced in wargaming but in the area there aren't many people wit the same hobby, hence my question on this forum.
Wargaming would be the next logical step as it would combine my passion for painting miniatures with the passion for Total War games.

So, my question. As I have a lot of painted but unbased miniatures I'd like to base them with an eye on wargaming somewhere in the (hope near)future. I have done some research on the net and I believe that here in the Netherlands Blackpowder is quite popular (I could be wrong).

So I would like to know:

Which are the measurements of the bases for Blackpowder and how many figs will they support?

When you have a French battalion there will be 6 companies, 2 elite and 4 fusilier. How large will each compagnie be?
Are the command figures included in one compagnie or will they have there own bases.

Are there differences between basing for different nations? I 've seen pictures on the net of tightly base french and spread out Brits. I guess this has something to do with the fact that the French preferred to advance and fight in tight columns while the British often used formations with very thin lines.

How large would the bases be for canons and cavalry?