Work in Progress

Middle Earth scenery

Posted by steve_pickstock on 29 Apr 2021, 20:28

Ok, so I am weak!

I can justify it. It's not just the new 'shiny' thing, it's the fact that I get bored doing the same thing for a long time, and I have been working on the Musketeers for over four months now. Plus using the polystyrene has opened new possibilities and I am going at them like a man possessed.

So with the church done, the auberge and the wall scene well on the way to completeness, figures getting painted and general progress is coming along nicely with the Musketeers, I allowed myself to explore my other love - Middle Earth.

It started with this experiment
Eventually this will become a ruin swallowed by the woods of Ithilien or rotting in the wilds of Rhovanion, or possibly even one of ruins in the north, in Arnor.

Then I began thinking - which I probably shouldn't do.
You see the problem is the films.
Parts of them I love and parts of them I really really hate.
The biggest thing about the Peter Jackson films for me, is the design work that went into them. Weapons, armour and architecture, they did so much that was right in these areas but then screwed it up by making stuff up in the scripts. And don't even start me on what they did to the Riders of Rohan.

I knew what I was trying to do with this, but it still started out as an experiment, using a new type of foam that I got given called Depron. This is used for model aeroplanes, it's tough, light and quite an open foam. So I sandwiched some 10mm depron between some of the 3mm white polystyrene and added a moulded frieze from the blue styrodur - just to see what it looked like.
It actually doesn't look much in this photo, but it's solid, quite stiff and okay, with some work, I think it will do the job.